Men's Tennis Concludes Dual Season Versus University of Texas-Pan American

Men's Tennis Concludes Dual Season Versus University of Texas-Pan American

April 14, 2008

SANTA CLARA, Calif. - On an emotionally charged day, the Santa Clara men's tennis team dropped their final regular season match versus University of Texas-Pan American, 5-2. The day began with the Broncos honoring student assistant Kevin McQuaid in their annual Senior Day. In the crowd were many fans, including several former Santa Clara players. Coach Derek Mills got choked up when he recounted McQuaids career as a player and his contribution to the program this season.

After the Broncos celebrated McQuaid's five year career with Santa Clara, the Broncos began doubles play. At the No. 1 position, Kenzo Hirakawa-Wong and Jay Wong edged Ivan Avila and Nirvick Mohinta, 8-7 for the win. Santa Clara could not pull out the doubles point with losses at the No. 2 and No. 3 spots.

In singles action, the Broncos fell in the No. 4 through No. 6 positions. At the No. 1 spot sophomore Jay Wong defeated Ivan Avila, 6-2, 6-1, getting Santa Clara's first point of the day. Kenzo Hirakawa-Wong and Senthil Chidambaram, who played at the No. 2 and No. 3 positions, respectively, were the last ones on the court. Behind the cheers of the crowd, Hirakawa-Wong pulled out the victory over the Broncs Ashwin Vijayaragavan, 6-1, 5-7 (10-5). Chidambaram, who was the final match on the court, fell in the first set, 7-5, to UTPA's Nirvick Mohinta. After rallying back in the second set, Chidambaram could not extend the match into a third set and fell 7-5.

Santa Clara will be hosting the WCC Championships April 18-20 at the Degheri Tennis Center. A schedule of play will be announced later this week.

No. 1 SCU Kenzo Hirakawa-Wong/Jay Wong d. UTPA Ivan Avila/Nirvick Mohinta 8-7
No. 2 UTPA Marcus Dornauf/Andrew Irving d. SCU John Iwanski/John Iwanski 8-1
No. 3 UTPA Shashank Vij/Ashwin Vijayaragavan d. SCU Senthil Chidambaram/Justin Wong 8-4

No. 1 SCU Jay Wong d. UTPA Ivan Avila 6-2, 6-1
No. 2 SCU Kenzo Hirakawa-Wong d. UTPA Ashwin Vijayaragavan 6-1, 5-7 (10-5)
No. 3 UTPA Nirvick Mohinta d. SCU Senthil Chidambaram 7-5, 7-5
No. 4 UTPA Andrew Irving d. SCU Charlie Burke 1-6, 6-1, 6-1
No. 5 UTPA Marcus Dornauf d. SCU Justin Wong 6-0, 6-2
No. 6 UTPA Shashank Vij d. SCU John Iwanski 6-1, 6-0