Eight Women's Soccer Players Earn All-WCC Honors

Nov. 13, 2002

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - Santa Clara University women's soccer seniors Devvyn Hawkins and Aly Wagner, as well as sophomore Leslie Osborne, were named first team selections to the 2002 All-West Coast Conference Team, the league announced today.

The 2002 all-conference first and second teams were dominated by players from Portland and Santa Clara. The Pilots are represented by eight players, while the Broncos placed five players among the top 22 vote getters. Portland's Erin Misaki became the league's seventh four-time all-WCC selection, joining Pilot alums Shannon MacMillan (1992-95) and Justi Baumgardt (1993, 1995-97). Wagner, Saint Mary's Ruth Montgomery and Portland's Orlandos join the WCC list of three-time first team selections, which now includes nine players.

The All-Conference team is highlighted by a sweep of the league's individual awards. Portland sophomore Christine Sinclair earned Player of the Year honors, while teammate and fellow underclassmen Lindsey Huie was named Freshman of the Year. Portland's Lauren Orlandos was named the WCC Defensive Player of the Year for the second time. She also won the award as a sophomore in 2000.

Pepperdine's Tim Ward was selected by his peers as the WCC Coach of the Year after leading the Waves to a share of their first-ever WCC title and a No. 3 seed in the NCAA tournament.

Junior Veronica Zepeda and sophomore Megan Kakadelas earned second team selections, while honorable mention honors went to junior Chardonnay Poole, sophomore Bree Horvath and freshman Micaela Esquivel.

The Broncos, the 2001 National Champions, are the tournament's sixth overall seed, and will host the first and second rounds of the 21st NCAA Championship at Buck Shaw Stadium this weekend. Santa Clara will face Creighton in the first round on Friday at 7:30 p.m. Pacific-10 schools Arizona State and Washington State will face each other in the other game at 5 p.m. The winners will face each other on Sunday at 1 p.m.

First Team

Devvyn Hawkins SCU SR MF Olympia, Wash.
Lindsey Huie POR FR MF Mission Viejo, Calif.
Erin Misaki POR SR MF Valencia, Calif.
Ruth Montgomery SMC SR GK Portland, Ore.
Leslie Osborne SCU SO F Menomonee Falls, Wis.
Lauren Orlandos POR SR D Lake Forest, Calif.
Susan Palmer PEP SR D Los Alamitos, Calif.
Christine Sinclair POR SO F Burnaby, B.C.
Ashley Swanson PEP SO D Irvine, Calif.
Laura Trask LMU JR D El Cajon, Calif.
Aly Wagner SCU SR MF San Jose, Calif.

Second Team

Lauren Arase POR SR GK La Canada, Calif.
Betsy Barr POR SR MF Granite Bay, Calif.
Imani Dorsey POR JR D Santa Monica, Calif.
Megan Kakadelas SCU SO F Carlsbad, Calif.
Shari Nishikawa LMU JR M/D Kaneohe, Hawaii.
Ali Pavoni PEP SO F Valencia, Calif.
Brooke Roby USD SO MF Poway, Calif.
Cristina Romero USD R D Bonita, Calif.
Kristen Rogers POR SO D Bonsall, Calif.
Lacey Ubaldi PEP JR F Stockton, Calif.
Veronica Zepeda SCU JR MF Riverside, Calif.

Honorable Mention

Annie Hawkins, GON; Natalie Hardin, GON; Myka Peck, LMU; Beth Skhal, LMU; Kellie Schroeder, LMU; Lori Sims, LMU; Jenn Horn, LMU; Jenna Fodor, PEP; Megan Woods, PEP; Anna Picarelli, PEP; Kristen Moore, POR; Emily Patterson, POR; Lucianne Crenshaw, SMC; Jill Anderson, SMC; Shauna Rech, SMC; Sarah Burgess, SMC; Chelsea Montero, SMC; Marie-Claude Henry, USD; Val Strocco, USD; Caty Harris, USF; Jennifer Orantes, USF; Shannon Allen, USF; Chardonnay Poole, SCU; Bree Horvath, SCU; Micaela Esquivel, SCU

Player of the Year: Christine Sinclair, Portland
Freshman of the Year: Lindsey Huie, Portland
Defensive Player of the Year: Lauren Orlandos, Portland
Coach of the Year: Tim Ward, Pepperdine